Brave

I love the days when you have that sense of being exactly where you need to be. I don’t just mean right place, right time (though those moments are fabulous as well). Today I mean I love having the confidence that I am professionally right where I need to be, and it’s a wonderful feeling.

I heard the song “Brave” by Sarah Bareilles the other day as I was driving home, and despite having heard the words hundreds of times over the last few months, that day they struck a chord.

Say what you wanna say, and watch the words fall out. Honestly, I wanna see you be brave.

I suddenly realized why the lyrics resonated with me and gave me that warm and fuzzy feeling: in my life I want to see people be brave. For me, the best feeling in the world is seeing someone step out of their comfort zone and succeed. In my chosen field of work, it’s part of my everyday life to push people past their limits. As a trainer, I help them break down barriers, as a researcher, I’m fighting to discover new ways for people to overcome obstacles, and one day as a teacher, I hope to instill in students a love and passion for learning that prepares them to reach new heights professionally.

This is my field. This is where I belong and this is where I will stay. And believe me when I say, I wanna see you be brave.

Leave a Reply

