Don’t Make the Resolutions- Live Them!

All around me the world is buzzing about resolutions. Everyone has resolved to change something in order to make 2014 a better year than 2013, and most all of the resolutions I hear involve some form of increased gym visitation. I struggle this time of year watching this series of events unfold, not only for the obvious Jan 1st influx of gym memberships that never continue past their 1 month trial, but mostly for the generally accepted social “requirement” of treating January 1st differently than the other 364 (sometimes 365) days of the year.

Don’t get me wrong—I love resolutions. I make them constantly and consistently throughout the year. I simply see no need to treat January 1st as a starting point for the rest of my life. As an exercise physiologist I can’t help but cringe a little in November when people talk about all these great resolutions they have planned….for January. I bite my tongue, conceding that any resolution is better than no resolution,  but inside every part of me is thinking “Now! Go now!”

The bottom line is, if you feel as if something in your life, physically, socially, mentally, etc, needs to be changed, it’s probably best not to contemplate a start date. As the saying goes, the hardest part of change is admitting there’s a problem. So if you, of your own free will, realize you need this change, you probably REALLY need it. So why wait?

I understand the theory behind a fresh start. January 1st is such a strong date. It makes you feel as if the world is new, fresh and full of possibilities. You have a whole year to redefine how you live. You know what also sounds like a “strong date?” Tomorrow. Monday. Next Week. See where I’m going with this?

Several people have asked me what my New Year’s Resolutions are, and I’ve answered every one of them the same way: I don’t have any. I don’t think I’m perfect. I know my life constantly needs small readjustments, but that’s the thing- Throughout my life I am constantly readjusting. I’m changing, adapting and working towards what I want and who I want to be. I don’t want how I live my life to be defined by a future date. So my New Year’s challenge to you is this—if you want change, change today. If you want to resolve, resolve today. Don’t hinge your hopes of a new you on a new tomorrow, new week or new year. Start today!

Leave a Reply

