Numbers only lead to obsession

I used to be able to do 10 consecutive body-weight pull-ups. About 7 years ago I made it my mission to be able to complete 10. At the time, I could not even do one without assistance. There is no realistic reason why I need to physically be able to do this, but it’s been something I wanted to get back to. Right now I’m back where I was seven years ago in that I can no longer do an unassisted one. So I’m making it my goal by the new year to be able to do at least one.

Additionally, I have a weight-loss goal as well. I’m choosing not to disclose even the number I want to lose because this isn’t a post fishing for compliments or assurances that my goal is unnecessary. I have a number in mind so I know when my goal is attained, but the number won’t be the focus throughout. As with any goal, I want support and encouragement. I feel like every time I see someone set a goal of weight loss, it becomes ALL about the numbers and scale. I refuse to focus on numbers–calories, pounds, etc. No one needs to know the numbers of your goal in order to support you. I want to feel better. Functionally I would feel better if some of my numbers changed, but I don’t need to tie in emotions with it. I don’t need to attach you to my numbers. As with all my goals, this one is for myself. I share it for accountability. Since when do we need numbers for that?

Believe me, I know the value of numbers. My field is based off of them. We use them to categorize people. It’s much easier to use a blanket numeric system than to physiologically assess millions of people. Numbers are incredibly useful, but they aren’t always best.

I can tell you my weight goal is realistic and healthy. I can promise I will go about attaining it in a safe and step-wise manner. I’ll use numbers as necessary, but not as an obsession. My scale will disappear tomorrow until  4 weeks from now. I think that is the best way to approach weight-loss goals. You want results not obsession. If you take away the numbers and focus on the process, there’s an obsession in the work, rather than depression over minimal changes. My satisfaction will be in the process.

Leave a Reply

